ITS TAPER TIME, BITCHES!!!

I have no motivation to do this right now, but if I don’t, I’ll forget stuff. Not a lot to report, just some exciting things so lets get to it.

Friday night I had dinner and IronBeers (wine)with Sue and Kathy. It was a freaking BLAST. That’s all I can say about that.

Saturday I had my two bridal showers. They weren’t painful. Lets leave it at that. Then I went to a party with Matt and some friends. It was supposed to be for fireworks but we left before they started because we had a big day ahead of us. Yes I had 2 beers. No beers this week!

A fun time was had by all.

Today I got up at 5:45 and was out the door on Cervelo at 6:30. I rode to Sues house and we rode to Buncher, we we met up with Matt, Sarah, and Bill. We then rode all over the place. I think all total the group of us did around 30-sih miles (maybe more?) It was so fun to have a group to ride with. Shout out to Sarah for doing 30 yesterday plus that crazy hard section we did today. I would have NEVER been able to do that my firs year. She is a beast and will be getting her M-dot next year, I know it.

Documentation is everything.

I then did countless loops around Buncher (an industrial park in GBG that is basically a two mile flat loop with bike lanes. Huge win, huge bore) which brought me to around 80 miles. Oh wait, did I mention today was my LAST LONG RIDE?! Holy balls. I couldn’t believe it. Back to the play by play. Around mile 70, my chain started making this weird noise. Not all the time, just every now and then. As I was trying to figure out what was causing it, I realized my derailleur was starting to skip gears. I’m thinking that just from bouncing on shitty country roads all the time, my shit got shifted a little, gotta get that checked asap. This made me nervous so I headed back towards home at 81 miles. I wanted to get 9 more in at Buncher, but oh well. I made it home and had 9 miles to go. True confession time, I wanted to do 112 miles, really REALLY BAD. I felt awesome! My legs were starting to feel some of the steeper climbs, but other than that I had peed a lot and really nailed the nutrition. I kept thinking ‘I could totally run after this, no problem”. So anyway, with the state of my chain and being stuck in Shitroad USA (Jeannette) I didn’t want to press my awesome bike luck I was having. I did a few loops around town and BOOM. 100 amazing feeling miles in 6:15 minutes. Same time as last time, however this course was MUCH tougher and I had to keep stopping for traffic and red lights and I didn’t stop my watch every time I peed or stopped to refill water. My confidence is super high. I would Love to be able to put that kinda ride together in NYC. I feel that the course could be similar, so it’s possible. As Sue texted, I am ready.

So now it’s time to taper, kinda. This week is really easy. Pittsburgh Olympic Tri on Sunday and then the next two weeks have been described as “short distance, high intensity”. Oh, ok Sue.

I would love to get into feelings and blah blah blah but true to my life, we just got a call so now I have to go to work. Running would be fine, the last thing I want to do it put a suit on and play funeral director. Shit.

 

Leave a Reply

