Sunburn in March

Hey.

I hope where ever you are you had the same amazing weather I did the past few days. I LOVE that its the high 70’s in March. If it could stay like this all summer long I’d be a happy camper.

The fact that is St. Patrick’s day, a Saturday night and I’m sitting at home in my pj’s drinking water really tells of the transformation I am in. This is the first time since I was probably 16 that I haven’t been drunk on this day. I did cheat and have iron beers last night (more on that in a second) and did stop by a bar to say hi to friends today, but I didn’t drink and was told I “looked and smelled like Lance Armstrong.” Me for the win.

 

Friday I ran and had my long swim. It was hard, but not unbearable. After the swim, we had Iron Beers! I love Iron Beers. Basically, it was supposed to be a meeting with Sue about the outline of the next few months. We were at a popular local bar/tapas place (SITTING OUTSIDE) and about 4 tri girls happened to be there, too so things got a little off course. Sue told me that I could have my 3 beers last night for this upcoming week, so I’m beerless until next Sunday. I’m not worried about that because I have no plans all week and work next weekend so it won’t be an issue. We did finally go over the outline and I have to say the part that made me the most nervous was the small section about taking care of ourselves ie stress, relationships, sleep, safety etc. I don’t handle stress well AT ALL. I hold stuff in and let it build up until I freak out. I also know that June, July and August are going to be crazy stressful with the rebuilding of the funeral home. I told my mom no one is allow to talk to me from May on. Hopefully that will work ;).

The training part is daunting, but Matt explains stuff really well so he made me feel better about it. As long as the weather stays like this, I see no reason why getting workouts in and being fully prepared would be a problem. I now know I have the work ethic, drive and determination to do the workouts the best I can, I just need all outside factors to cooperate (weather, injury, work).

Got to ride outside again today!

Sue and I did the Mt. Pleasant loop which is a really challenging 22 mile ride with lots of hills and tight turns. We added a few more miles for a total of 26 by going to visit her parents. I love them. We did this ride the same weekend last year and it was 30 degrees and snowing! I just took like an hour going through all my pictures trying to find last years and I can’t and that makes me sad.I love my bike. My wish is to get out twice a week until August (ideally, it would be 3 times a week but I wont be greedy)

Tomorrow starts another week of similar training. I feel good. If I could sleep better at night I would be happy. I have insomnia but all the workouts help make me tired, I just can’t stay asleep. I wake up a lot and it’s annoying.

I hope everyone had a great weekend!

One Comment on “Sunburn in March”

  1. betty says:

    i’ve been totally MIA so this is for the last few posts.. but i’m glad your training is going so well! i went to the field to help barbaras neice with softball and got a litle color on my face! LOVE ITTTTTT (i’m just not ready for 80-95 degrees). i’m totally with you on the stressing.. i stress so bad.. this buying a house has me up all and night and stressing all day.. i need to look into stress management.. hope you’re well!


Leave a Reply

