Hi.

I don’t really have much to say today, but as we all know, Thurdays are my day off and since I have nothing better to do, I sit in a little coffee shop and talk to the internet. You’re all welcome.

Quick recap. Workouts are good. Lactate threshold starts out boring then gets difficult toward the end. I am meeting Sue at 3 to get a new strength program. I’m happy for that, I was getting bored with my old one.

Here is a picture of yours truly going to spin/swim yesterday.

That shirt didn’t fit a month ago. It’s witty, isn’t it?

I want to share two recipes that I made this week. The first is one that I found on http://pinterest.com/ironsayya/.

Vegan and Gluten Free Ironman cookies: The back story is that this lady was a vegan  and was sick of eating all those cliff/luna/ blah blah blah nasty bars during training and racing all the time, so she came up with this. I wont lie, if you want a “no-bake” or a real cookie, these are not them. They are very similar to a cliff bar, so don’t go in with high expectations. I modified the recipe to fit with what I had on hand and to make the Gluten free. I am fine with gluten, but a lot of my friends aren’t so I try to find stuff they can eat, too. I do try to limit my intake of it, so this worked out well.

Here is the link to her website and original post. http://justeatfood.com/n-661-vegan-iron-man-cookies.html

This is what I used/ did:

1/4 Coco almond butter

2/4 cup peanut butter

1 banana-smashed

1/2 cup agave nectar

2/3 unsweetened almond milk

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

½ teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup whole wheat flour (gluten free)

1 cup ground almond meal

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup steel cut oats

2 tbsp chia seeds

1/4 cup silvered almonds

1/2 cup goji berries

Heat oven to 350. Mix all that crap together, I didn’t use separate bowls (I hate doing dishes) and it worked fine. Then scoop your mixture onto a baking sheet spayed with Pam. Make your cookies about 2 tbsp. (I got 24 of them out of my mixture) Bake about 15 minutes, check bottoms to make sure they are brown. Will still be soft but will set up as they cool.

Using the app on my phone, I figured that each cookie is roughly 138 calories. Not bad for training!

The second recipe (FYI I spell that word wrong EVERY FREAKIN TIME I TYPE IT!humpf.) I made was from my instagram friend, Janetha. I have mentioned her and her blog  http://mealsandmovesblog.com/ here before. As soon as she posted “Protein Packed Peach Muffins” I was in the kitchen. I’ve been looking for quick, high protein snacks to eat as breakfast before I go for early am workouts. I am not a morning eater, so it’s been a struggle to get on the breakfast habit. These muffins are my new go to pre am workout breakfast treat. Here is a photo of mine, but go here http://mealsandmovesblog.com/2012/02/08/protein-packed-peach-muffins/ for the recipe!

 

That’s pretty much all I have. If you are reading this, regardless of where you live or if I even know you, come to Johnnys Wifes Place on Friday at 9PM to watch me do the Guinness toast. This will be my first toast sober, as I am saving all 3 beers for Friday, but I doubt that will get me buzzed. At least I’ll remember it this time!

One Comment on “Hi.”

  1. janetha says:

    Yay! Glad you liked them!


Leave a Reply

