Rainy Tuesday-a long post.

Am I the only one that thinks today is just CRAPTASTIC out? Ok, yes, it’s warmer right now, but it’s rainy and dreary and its supposed to drop and end up snowy and icy tonight. Blah SPRING PLEASE!

Are you sick of reading about workouts yet? I hope not, we have 7 months to go and that IS what this blog is mainly about. Today I went to the gym in the early AM and did the spin bike there for 45 minutes then ran for 30. You may ask why I did the spin bike at the Y instead of oing my trainer at home. Get comfy for a story, people! My mom decided yesterday that she wanted the two of us to go out to lunch. We went to Atrias and I was very proud of myself for my food choices. While woman (aka my mom) decided to go the liquid lunch route (I was driving and that woman LOVES her dirty martinis), I had water and a seared ahi tuna appetizer with cucumber salad. It was delicious and just the perfect amount of food. Go me! After lunch, I needed to run to the local health food store for some items that aren’t readily available at the normal grocery store, and thats when Woman decided she would like to go for happy hour. Now, I will do anything to get out of work for the day, but I knew I had to drag my trainer and road bike out of storage up to the third floor of the house and do a workout. Sounds pretty whiny talking about it, but i HATE the trainer so the thought of  not only the workout but finding all my crap then getting it together and setting it up was weighing on me all day. Anyway, Mom had a few too many drinks and ended up not making it to the dinner she was supposed to go to later in the night and wasn’t feeling too well. I take this chance to thank Sue for meeting us for a drink ( I had ONE woodchuck. I wanted 100 more, but had water) and apologize for my mother. She is a very fun but embarrassing drunk. By time I got mom home and cleaned up and passed out long enough that I didn’t have to worry about her, I was NOT in the mood to piss around on my trainer. So I decided to to my strength workout instead and planned to do a small indoor BRICK this AM. It worked out perfectly and I will probably do that a lot more until I can get outside. Now, this may not sound like a big deal, but the old non IronSayya would have blown last nights workout off, got drunk with my mom and probably never made said workout up. I have to say, I was really proud of myself for figuring out a way to make it all work, and not blow off my diet or training. It was tempting, but I just thought of my long term goal. I’ve said it a thousand times, but I hope that these positive changes keep coming. They make me happy.

Recipe Time! Today’s I will instruct you on how to make what I have lovingly named “Sue Dip”

Sue brought this to Deep Creek when we relayed Savage Man, an Olympic distance race where Sue swam and rode and I ran.

We won second place 🙂

Back to the dip. It is delicious and easy and full of healthy things and great in a pinch. If Sue eats it, you should eat it. You’re welcome

“Sue Dip” (I double it. It always magically disappears)

*2 (15oz) cans of chick peas, drained

*1/2 -3/4 cup mayo (it calls for vegan, but I am not vegan and that shit is expensive so I use low fat mayo)

*2/3 cup minced celery

*1/3 cup dill pickle

*5-7 small green olives cut up

*1/4 cup nutritional yeast flakes (yum! Love em)

*2 green onions, chopped

*2 tsp soy sauce (i use low sodium)

*1 tsp kelp power (optional)

*salt and pepper to taste (i leave it out, it has tons of flavor and I try and cut salt whenever possible)

Drain your chick peas and mash them with a fork or potato masher or if you like it creamy like hummus, food process that shizz.

Chop all your veggies!

Mix in ALLLLLL the ingredients. Mix them well! Please?

Serve with any healthy chips you like or make a sandwich with some toasted whole grain bread. I like to cut my toast like crackers. Yum

Enjoy!

 

My next post will probably be pretty heavy, so enjoy this light, fun post while its here. Thursday will be a doozy!

 

One Comment on “Rainy Tuesday-a long post.”

  1. I’m so proud of you!!! You’re amazing! Almost as amazing as that dip sounds. Almost.


Leave a Reply

